Fiction · Romance

A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks

As I (Sam) wrote in the review of The Joy Luck Club, I bought A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks from a flea market at the Italian Feast Rachel and i went to in Williamsburg (located in Brooklyn, NY). I know that i am definitely late in reviewing this but it is only because I didn’t own the book!

A Walk To Remember

For those of you who are not familiar with this novel by Nicholas Sparks, it is about a boy named Landon Carter and a girl named Julie Sullivan. Landon and Jaime are seniors in high school and Landon is always making fun of her and her father, Reverend Hegbert Sullivan. Now before I continue with this review, let me inform you that it took me a complete 10 hours to read the book (It’s a new record for me because I ABSOLUTELY REFUSED TO PUT IT DOWN).

Landon and Jaime live in Beaufort and Landon is quite rich while Jaime is the Reverend’s daughter and is middle class. Jaime is a plain girl on the outside. She always wears her hair in a bun with a skirt and a brown sweater. In her hands, she is always carrying around a Bible.

Landon and Jaime have known each other since they were children and Landon would always make fun of her…until Jaime asks him for his help with the school play.

I am going to stop there because I do not want to give the story away.

However, I will tell you this: the book is definitely going to make you cry. there are so many quote-worthy moments as well as moments where you will laugh and cry, as with any Nicholas Sparks novel. The novel is a bit fast paced and has a lot of dialogue but for me it was perfect because as soon as it hit its biggest twist, it stayed there and opened my heart.

I know this is going to sound cliche but yes, I give this book a 5 as well. Not because it is Nicholas Sparks’ but because it does everything that a Novel is supposed to do: it makes you live in Beaufort with the two of them. It makes you see everything unfold before your eyes. It makes you laugh and it makes you cry.

But more than anything: A Walk To Remember is most definitely A Read to Remember and a walk through life that you must take.

Leave a Reply

